Parliament Elects New EALA MPs

Members of Parliament have elected new representatives of Uganda to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Parliament held a special sitting on Tuesday 28th February, 2017, during which candidates vying for posts in EALA were allowed to campaign to MPs. This was followed by MPs casting a secret ballot to vote nine candidates of their choice out of the 46 who had been nominated.

The Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga, under rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, announced nine candidates as the winners of the election and new representatives of Uganda in EALA.

These included; Hon. Christopher Okumu Opoka (274 votes), Hon. Susan Nakawuki (298 votes), Hon. Mukasa Mbidde (311 votes), Hon. Dennis Namara (329 votes), Hon. Mary Mugyenyi (341 votes), Hon. Steven Odong (346 votes), Hon. Paul Musamali (350 votes), Hon. Mathias Kasamba (359 votes) and Hon. Rose Akol (370 votes).

“We have evoked democracy, so when you go to the EALA you are representing our country, not your political parties,” Kadaga said.

The Speaker further urged the new Members to address their focus to the areas which need reform in the East Africa Community treaty but most especially the implementation of laws in the treaty.

Most Popular

To Top