West Nile maintains perfect record against Cranes in Paidha

West Nile maintains perfect record against Cranes in Paidha

  Uganda Cranes Regional tours 2017:

West Nile Select 1-0 Uganda Cranes

Rashid Ococha scored the lone strike on the day as West Nile region select team defeated the national team, Uganda Cranes 1-0 at a fully packed Bar Okoro Stadium, Paidha in Zombo district.

Ococha scored in the 28th minute beating the advancing goalkeeper Tom Ikara with a simple finish that settled in the back of the net.

The well cheered victory was also watched by the FUFA President Eng.Moses Magogo and the State Minister for Energy, Eng. Simon Du’Jangu.

Micho fielded almost two different sides for the national team in either halves to give chance to the players who traveled for the match.

Uganda Cranes came close to scoring through Shafiq Kagimu and Pius Obuya in the first and second halves respectively but to no avail.

The regional tours are co-sponsored by Airtel Uganda and Nile Special with the main intention of taking the national team closer to the fans in their respective localities.

Team line ups

Steven Mukwala in action against West Nile select’s Khalid Odagiu

West Nile XI:

Saidi Data (G.K), Erick Oyirwoth, Abdul Rahman Andima, Khalid Odagiu, Sabir Nesta, Joel Jagyembe, Creamio Abang, Oso Aniku, Fred Amaku, Solomon Ovoyo, Rashid Ococha


Saidi Siraji (G.K), Jerry Jakisa, Saviour Anzuvuku, Mahad Swaibu, Akbar Khamis, Ibrahim Dada, Brian Olega

Head coach: Swaibu Waku

Uganda Cranes XI:

Tom Ikara (G.K), Allan Drajua, Yayo Kato Lutimba, Rashid Toha, Julius Mutyaba, Victor Aweko, Rahmat Senfuka, Shafik Kagimu, Muhammed Shaban, Ibrahim Saddam Juma (Captain), Steven Mukwala


Muhammad Ssekeba (G.K), Fred Okot, Hassan Musana, Ibrahim Kibumba, Brian Nsubuga, Nicholas Kasozi, Hudu Mulikyi, Joseph Ssemujju, Anwar Ntege,  Brian Aheebwa, Patrick Kaddu, Brian Lubega, Pius Obuya

Head coach: Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic


Center Referee: William Oloya

1st Assistant Referee: Ben Adroel

2nd Assistant Referee: Musa Howard

4th official: Rahman Atiku

Match Commissioner: Mike Letti


To Top