Parliament online entry exams Flops

Some of the Candidates stranded at Makerere

The aptitude tests for candidates who applied for jobs in the Parliamentary Service have been put off to a later date.

The tests that were meant to be conducted on Thursday, 13th and Friday, 14th July 2017 were postponed following a server failure which could not enable the candidates access the exam.

The Director, Human Resource Department, Mr. Jackson Kumakech said that despite efforts to restart the system and have the candidates sit the exam, the failure recurred forcing the postponement of the exercise.

“A new date will be communicated in due course. On behalf of the Parliamentary Commission, I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to the candidates,” he said.

The interview process was being held at the College of Computing and Information Science, Makerere University.

The Parliamentary Commission intends to fill 30 vacant positions in the Service, which include: Accountant, Clerk Assistant, Engineering Officer (Automotive) and Technician.

Other positions are: Administrative Assistant, Assistant Editor of Hansard, Engineering Officer (Mechanical), Information & Public Education Officer, Librarian, Procurement Officer, Protocol Officer, Publications Officer, Research Officer (Publication) and Research Officer (Statistician).

The recruitment would raise the number of staff in the Service from 435 to 465. The recruitment was necessitated following the increase in the number of Members of Parliament in the 10th Parliament.

The Parliamentary Commission is charged with appointing, promoting and exercising disciplinary control over persons holding public office in Parliament; and to review the terms and conditions of service, standing orders, training and qualifications of persons holding office in Parliament.

The Commission was established by the Administration of Parliament Act, 1997 and is chaired by the Speaker of Parliament. It comprises the Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Leader of the Opposition, Government Chief Whip and four Backbench Commissioners.


To Top