EXCLUSIVE: MPs who rejected 2005 Term Limits, Now supporting Age limit

Kibanzanga Christopher

As it’s always said by scholars that History is always remembered, there a series of events that have always happened in the country since independence that will forever be reminisced.

Ever since parliament amended the 1995 constitution, a number of articles and clauses in the same plea have been also amended for several reasons that people have continuously analyzed as both political, economical and also personal.

One of these laws is the 2005 Term limit law that made Uganda get ruled without any form of restriction in sort of number of terms in office.

When this controversial bill was being tabled and passed, there was a team of legislators who stood their ground and rejected swallowing the UGX 5 Million bribe from president Museveni by then who had served two terms in office.

Some of these people are still in parliament up to date, some resigned from elective offices, others died (RIP), and others instead became so powerful in civil and political service.

The most surprising incident is that there are legislators who refused the 5 million and opposed the scrapping off of term limits 2005 but apparently working so hard in the move to scrap off age limit from the constitution. These include;

Hon. Kasule Lumumba


Justine Lumumba Kasule is the current Secretary General of the ruling National Resistance Movement political party in Uganda. She was appointed to that position on 23 December 2014, replacing Amama Mbabazi. Prior to that, she served as the Chief Government Whip in the Ugandan Cabinet, from May 2011 until December 2014.

Hon. Lumumba says that the President Museveni has overtime gained experience in national governance therefore supports him so that continuity of better services continues.

Hon. Betty Amongi

Hon.Betty Amongi is the wife to the party president of the opposition Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) Hon. Jimmy Akena. She was appointed recently as State Minister of Land and ever since the appointment, the strong opposition pillar has gone mute and never speaks about the President anymore and what I may say, she is nolonger bothered about age limit anymore.

Hon. Christopher Kibanzanga.

He is the young brother to the embattled King of the Rwenzururu Kingdom His Majesty Charles Wesley Mumbere, he is one of the founder members of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) and is has a record of attacking President Museveni for being a dictator but this Gentleman was seduced recently after he had lost an election of Becoming Kasese District Chairperson to NRM’s Muhindo Dula Mawa.

He was seduced, given millions of tax payer’s money and he changed to the National Resistance Movement (NRM) a move that even influenced President Museveni to reward him with a ministerial position. Apparently if you want to see the bitter Kibanzanga, just say Museveni should leave office and see verbal nonstop fight.

However, amaidsts these people who have eaten their words, there still legislators who are still on the fight and ready to fight Age limits bill too.

Here is the full list of MPs who voted against the scrapping off of term limits.

  1. Proscovia Salaamu-Musumba
  2. Nathan Nandala-Mafabi
  3. Jack Sabiiti
  4. Ekanya Geoffrey
  5. Reagan Okumu
  6. Ogenga Latigo (Prof)
  7. Kasiano Wadri
  8. John Kazoora (Major)
  9. Patrick Mwondha
  10. Cecilia Ogwal
  11. Okulo Epac (RIP)
  12. Ben Wacha
  13. Okello Okello
  14. James Mwanda (PWD) RIP
  15. Patrick Amuriat (Eng)
  16. John Arumadri
  17. John Kawanga
  18. Aggrey Awori
  19. Augustine Ruzindana
  20. Maria Matembe
  21. Ken. Lukyamuzi
  22. Joseph Balikudembe
  23. Ssebuliba Mutumba
  24. Yusuf Nsubuga Nsambu (RIP)
  25. Justine Kasule Lumumba
  26. Kibazanga Christopher
  27. Nobert Mao
  28. Emmanuel Twarebireho
  29. Martin Wandera (Workers)
  30. Abdul Katuntu
  31. Alaso Alice Asianut
  32. Alex Onzima
  33. Latiff Ssebagala
  34. Isa Kikungwe
  35. Michael Mabike
  36. Simon Ewuku Kalaki
  37. Betty Among
  38. Odonga Otto
  39. John Eresu
  40. Ojok Bileo
  41. Santa Okot
  42. Zakaria Olum
  43. Michael Ocula
  44. Margaret Ateng Otim
  45. Peter Omolo (RIP)
  46. Harry Kasigwa
  47. Omara Atubo
  48. Sarah Kiyingi
  49. Francis Epetit (Dr)
  50. Wilfred Kajeke
  51. Charles Byaruhanga (Capt)
  52. Frank Nabwiso (Dr)
  53. Elijah Okupa
  54. Fred Bogere (Col). Abstained.
  55. Beatrice Benkya. Abstained.

To Top