NRM rebel MPs asked to apologize to government chief whip.

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) parliamentary caucus has asked all the MPs that voted against the amendment of the age limit bill to put their stand into writing with explanation as to why they decided to betray their party.


Government chief whip

The Caucus held meeting at parliament to discuss the action that the party should take and later agreed that all these rebel MPs should confirm their stand with the party.

Nankabirwa reportedly explained that the Members of Parliament have failed to understand how the multi-party dispensation works and are working against the party.

Simeo Nsubuga, the Kasanda South Lawmaker said that there is room for reconciliation with the MPs in case they accept to put into writing. However, most of the rebel MPs claim that there is no need to apologize because they did what was right and followed the advice of their constituents.
Some of the NRM MPs who voted against the bill are Hellen Kahunde, Connie Nakayenze Galiwango, Norah Bigirwa, Anthony Ssemuli, Suzan Amero, Loy Katali and Henry Maurice Kibalya. Others are John Baptist Nambeshe, Barnabas Tinkasimire,Theodore Ssekikubo, James Ruugi, Sylvia Rwabwogo and Alex Ruhunda among others.

A total of 317 MPs voted to lift the age limits while 92 opposed the bill which is now an act. President Museveni can now stand in the 2021 elections after article 102b that puts an age limit cap on the candidature for the president at 75 and 35 years was scrapped following the passing of the bill to law.

To Top