Uganda Hippos Vs South Sudan Match anticipations intensify

  • First Leg: (Saturday, 31st March 2018): Uganda Hippos Vs South Sudan – At Star Times Stadium, Lugogo, Kampala – Kick off is 4 pm
  • Charges: 5000/= (Ordinary) and 10,000/= (VIP)
  • Gates open at 1 pm

With less than two days to the first leg of the TOTAL AFCON U-20 qualifier between Uganda Hippos and opponents from South Sudan, the home side has intensified training.

On Wednesday, the team had a double session with the morning session at the Africa Bible University for one hour before the afternoon session which took place at the Star Times Stadium, Lugogo.

Head coach Mathias Lule was joined by his assistants James Odoch and Samuel Kawalya as well as the the Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre and trainer Gerome D’Antonio who shared their ideas with the youngsters.

Confederation of African Football (CAF) confirmed the five match officials who will handle the first leg of the AFCON U-20 qualifier between Uganda and South Sudan this Saturday at the Star Times Stadium, Lugogo.

Uganda Cranes’ Gerome D’Antonio helps the Uganda U-20 players in stretching drills

All the referees are from Sudan with the match commissioner Gaspard Kayijuka coming from Rwanda.

Meanwhile, the Uganda Hippos team will continue with training on Friday at 2 p.m for the last session.

The visitors, whose first batch arrived on Thursday evening will train at 4 pm at Lugogo for one hour as mandated by the CAF competitions rules and regulations.

The South Sudan delegation is accomodated at Mount Zion Hotel in the heart of Kampala city.

Match Officials:

  • Center Referee: Adel Adam Mukhtar (Sudan)
  • Assistant Referee 1: Ahmed Elnour Haitham (Sudan)
  • Assistant Referee 2: Ahmed Mohamed Omer Hamid (Sudan)
  • Fourth Official: Mutaz Abdelbasit Abdelbasit Khairalla (Sudan)
  • Commissioner: Gaspard Kayijuka (Rwanda)

The Hippos are currently camped at African Bible University in Lubowa with 25 players in camp.

The full list of players in camp at African Bible University, Lubowa:

Goalkeepers: Tonny Kyamera (Buddo S.S and Express), Saidi Keni (Proline)

Defenders: Salim Kyobe (Spartan 05), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline), Geofrey Wasswa (Vipers), Bashir Asiku (Vipers), Fred Okot (URA), Hebert Ochayo (Kibuli S.S), Paul Willa (Police)

 Midfielders: Abubaker Kasule (Express), Allan Okello (KCCA), Frank ”Zaga” Tumwesigye (Vipers), Julius Poloto (KCCA), Ezra Bida (Onduparaka), Solomon Ovoyo (West Nile Province), Ivan Eyamu (Kataka), Faisal Sekyanzi (St Mary’s Nabweru), Joshua Okiror Ocen (Proline)

Strikers: Sadam Masereka (Buddo S.S)  Steven Desi Mukwala (Vipers), Hamisi Tibita (BUL), Ibrahim Thembo (Kansai Plascon), Denis Otim (Mbarara City), Joel Jangeyambe (West Nile Province), Joshua Wandera (Eastern), Sadat Anaku (KCCA Junior Team)


To Top