Desabre Names 30 Man Squad ahead of Uganda, Tanzania match

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre smiles during the weekly press conference

The Uganda Cranes Head coach Sebastien Desabre has called on his players and the entire country to play a key role to ensure that the National team delivers good results for the football fraternity when Tanzania comes to town.

Uganda Cranes and Tanzania Taifa Stars will lock horns on 8th September 2018 at Mandela National Stadium in the Total AFCON Qualifier.

The Frenchman named 30 players with the first section of local based players set to start training on 1st September at the StarTimes Stadium Lugogo.

The rest of the players will join training at Nambole on 3rd September 2018 for residential camp till match day.

Addressing the media during the official press conference at FUFA House in Mengo, Desabre noted that he is hopeful and optimistic that the summoned players will prepare well ahead of the Tanzania clash;

I am confident in the players summoned. All the players are very motivated and ready to give their best. Personally, i have done the research and follow up on most players. We shall start training on 1st September 2018 with a crop of locally based players before the rest of the foreign based will join on 3rd September.

Concerning the status of team captain Dennis Onyango, the coach assured the country that Onyango is fit to represent his country.

I spoke to him (Denis Onyango) just a few days ago and he has recovered well. He is also set to fly to Morocco for the CAF Champions league.

Uganda hosts Tanzania in a crucial match on Saturday, 8th September 2018 at the Mandela National Stadium.

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC) and Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka FC), Isaac Isinde (Kirinya Jinja SS), Murushid Juuko (Simba SC), Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC), Denis Iguma (Kazma FC), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia) FC, Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood), Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamo), Hassan Wasswa (El Geish), Khalid Aucho(Un attached), Ibrahim Saddam Juma (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Opondo Moses( Vendsyssel), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City), Faruku Miya (Gorica ), Moses Waisswa (Vipers Sc), Yunus Sentamu (FK Tirana), Martin Kizza (Sc Villa Jogoo), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC), Emma Okwi (Simba SC), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha), Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC), William Luwagga Kizito (FC Bate Borisov), Yasser Mugerwa (Fasil Kenema).

To Top