SHAME! 39 Districts Without a Single Hospital Named as Govt Gives Investor Shs1.7trn

A parliamentary report on the status of health sector in Uganda has revealed that there are 39 districts that have no single hospital.
This comes on the same day after Parliament approved government’s request to issue promissory notes worth US$379.71 million to finance the construction of the International Specialised Hospital of Uganda in Lubowa, Wakiso.
Health minister Jane Aceng on Tuesday listed 39 districts without any hospital thus highlighting the appalling health state of this country. Minister Aceng also revealed that there are 29 constituencies have no Health Centre IVs, while 331sub counties have no Health Centre III, and 132 sub counties have no health facility.
These district are; Alebtong, Amuria, Amuru, Bukedea, Bukomansimbi, Bulambuli, Buvuma, Buyende, Dokolo, Gomba, lsingiro, Kalangala, Kaliro, Kamwenge, Kibuku, Koboko, Kole, Kotido, Kween, Kyankwanzi, Kyegegwa, Luuka, Lamwo, Lwengo, Manafwa, Mitoma, Nakapiripirit, Namutumba, Namayingo, Ntoroko, Otuke, Pader, Rubirizi, Serere, Sironko, Kibale, Kakumiro, Rubanda and Omoro.
“The population of most of these districts does not meet the recommended catchment population for a general hospital except lsingiro, Amuria and Serere,” Aceng said.
According to the National Health Policy a general hospital serves a population of 500,000. There are 147 hospitals of which 63 are government, 64 NGO and 20 are private. However, there are disparities in geographical distribution and accessibility. Government provides PHC Non-Wage Grant to PNFP Hospitals to serve populations in districts where they exist.

To Top