Uganda U20 Team Off To Mauritania For AFCON Finals

Uganda U20 National team (Hippos) has flown out of Tanzania to Mauritania on Wednesday morning a board Egypt Air after a ten day training camp in Dar es Salaam in preparation for the 2021 Total AFCON U20 Finals. 25 players and 9 officials are part of the contingent.

The Hippos played two friendlies against Tanzania U20. Uganda won the first match 1-0 but fell 5-3 to their opponents in the second fixture.

Uganda Hippos U20 Players in their last training at Uhuru Stadium in Dar es Salaam

The head coach Morley Byekwaso is optimistic that his team will perform well at the AFCON Tournament.

We lost to Tanzania 5-3 in one of our buildup games. It was not a good result but we also scored some good goals. We realised the mistakes and managed to work on them before departing for Mauritania. All the boys are in good shape and I believe they will put up a great performance in AFCON‘ said Byekwaso before departing for Mauritania

Head Coach Morley Byekwaso (L) directing Hippos midfielder Najib Yiga during training in Tanzania

This is the first AFCON engagement for the CECAFA U20 Champions and they will play the first match in Group A on 15th February 2021 against Mozambique before facing Cameroon two days later and complete the group stages with a match against hosts Mauritania on 20th February.

The Hippos Team that started against Tanzania in the first game of the Mini Tournament

Full Contingent to Mauritania



Komakech Jack (18) (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC)


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

25 -Man Squad


Rogers Mulindwa – Leader of Delegation

Head Coach – Morley Byekwaso

Assistant Head Coach – Simeon Masaba

Goalkeeping Coach – Steven Billy Kiggundu

Team Doctor – Yahaya Katumba

Team Manager – Jackson Nyiima

Media Officer – Alex Kasirye

Equipment Manager – Frank Bumpenje

James Ayebale – FUFA Delegate

Swalley Kenyi – FUFA Staff

To Top