MTN Uganda Shortlists Nominees for the 2017 Innovation Awards

Uganda’s telecom giant; MTN Uganda will on Saturday, October 28th 2017 host an exhibition for the 45 selected nominees that were selected from the 200 submissions for its 2nd annual MTN Innovation Awards that will be held at the Shoprite Lugogo Mall parking area.

The purpose of the exhibition is for the public to view the amazing work done by technology innovators, especially the impact they are creating in society. The interaction with the nominees will provide insight into the development and operation of the innovations. The panel of five judges will review each of the nominees in order to make a decision on the eventual winners of the 9 categories; Best Health app, Best Education app, Best Financial Services app, Best SME app, Best Agriculture app, and Best Media and Entertainment app.

For categories like Finance, Agriculture, and Health will lay emphasis on MTN Uganda’s commitment to scale sectors critical to the improvement of lives and communities through digital innovations. The MTN Innovation Awards 2017 will also recognize the Outstanding Woman in Innovation, Innovation Achiever of the Year and Most innovative Mobile App. The winners will be recognized at an Awards Gala to be held on November 8th 2017.

Notably, these awards are a platform through which MTN recognizes some of the most outstanding locally developed mobile and desktop applications, as well as individuals and organisations that have been at the forefront of enabling the innovation ecosystem in the country.

On a special note, MTN Uganda increased the winners cash prize money from USD$1000 given to each category winner to USD$3000.

Here are the finalists for the 2015 MTN Innovation Awards, in no particular order:

  1. Best Health Application
  • ClinicMaster (Wilson Kutegeka) –
  • mHealth (mnBeF Project)
  • WinSenga (Edmund Ainebyona)
  1. Best Education Application
  • Course Generator (Seguya Derrick)
  • SchoolsUganda (Ssenoga Badru)
  • BrainShare (Charles Muhindo)
  1. Best Financial Services Application
  • Mobis ChapChap (Opio Obwangamoi David)
  • Elma – CenteMobile, SimYo, BankYo, PrideMobi (Zinat Juma)
  • Yo! Payments Gateway (Gerald Begumisa)
  1. Best SME Application
  • Tikiti (Alvin Kato – Ignition Group LLC)
  • School Management Dynamics – Intelligent Works
  • NTVGo App & Creative DNA (Elijah Atuhaire – Creative DNA)
  1. Best Enterprise Effort to support Innovation
  • Creative Meet-Ups (Anthony Simpson)
  • Outbox (Richard Zulu)
  • FundiBots (Solomon King Benge)
  1. Most Innovative Mobile App
  • Tikiti (Alvin Kato – Ignition Group LLC)
  • Fezah (Ham Namakajjo)
  • WinSenga (Edmund Ainebyona)
  1. Outstanding Woman in Innovation
  • Barbara Birungi (Hive Colab, WITU, Nakazade)
  • Lyndsay Handler (ReadyPay)
  1. Innovation Achiever of the Year
  • FundiBots (Solomon King Benge)
  • Fezah (Ham Namakajjo)
  • BrainShare (Charles Muhindo)



To Top