NRM’s Kahima swallows Ruhama By-election

NRM’s Moses Kahima

The ruling NRM party candidate Moses Kahima Mugabe has won the Ruhaama County parliamentary by-election, beating three Independent candidates.

According to the results declared last night by Robert Brine, the Ntungamo District returning officer, Mugabe secured 31,102 votes to clinch the seat that fell vacant in November last year following the death of William Beijukye Zinkuratire.

Mugabe was followed Jackson Mubangizi Kabikire with 16,345 votes; Peninah Beinomugisha with 2,103 votes and Vastine Orishaba who garnered only 523 votes.

The by election was characterized by low voter turn-up.


To Top